Who is John Galt?

I have mixed feelings for Atlas Shrugged. Though I’m not very fond of the ideas behind it, it’s the hell of a book! If you haven’t heard about it, here’s a Wikipedia link.

The way Rand drives the whole story it’s just great, I was instantly hooked. “Who is John Galt?” Who would you rather prefer? A businessman who says that we must share our profits with the ones less capable or a successful industrialist who couldn’t care less about the community? Well,  I would feel more comfortable with the first one, but Ayn Rand makes you choose the latter.

I must admit that I passed some pages faster than others, the book is an engaging story that wraps up a whole philosophical theory; so some parts can be a little bit tedious, sorry Ayn!

The philosophical theory she stands for is Objectivism. Logic, reality, facts, effort, work, brain, mind. The liberal laisezz-faire is present in this book where the world is polarised in two different groups of people, making the “good ones” look like perfect while the “bad ones” couldn’t be filthier. Virtue against incompetence, symbiosis against parasitism, Hank Rearden against Jim Taggart.

How Dagny fights for her railroad against all the odds, her disgusting brother and all the bureaucrats surrounding him, her love affairs… I don’t want to say more about the plot because I had such a great time reading it and don’t want to spoil it for anyone!

‘Atlas Shrugged’ on Kickstarter?

A couple of months ago, before I finished the book, I read they were trying to get funds to make the movie through Kickstarter. This is funny, isn’t it? Isn’t that against the whole idea of the book?

“I swear by my life and my love of it that I will never live for the sake of another man, nor ask another man to live for mine.” Ayn Rand, Atlas Shrugged

John Galt’s speech summarises pretty much the ideas Rand wanted to spread.

Leave a Reply

